Author Topic: @#$^%#& Routers!!  (Read 1840 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AG-51_Glider

  • AG-51 Active Roster
  • Active
  • ******
  • Posts: 2590
  • Awards AG-51 Pilot
    • Awards
@#$^%#& Routers!!
« on: March 02, 2013, 02:56:43 PM »
Not sure what the bleep is going on but just had my 3rd router go bad in the last year!!


Renegade

  • Guest
Re: @#$^%#& Routers!!
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2013, 03:16:06 PM »
That ain't good. What kind/brand have you been using?

Offline AG-51_Cobraj

  • Administrator
  • Active
  • **********
  • Posts: 4019
  • Awards AG-51 Reserve
    • 51 Group
    • Awards
Re: @#$^%#& Routers!!
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2013, 04:59:57 PM »
Have the cable company come out and test your line. Your signal may be so strong it is blowing up your router. I had the same issue and had the tech put an inline buffer on and problem solved.

Use Cisco brand, Linksys is good and built by Cisco.

http://m.bestbuy.com/m/e/product/detail.jsp?skuId=6571412&pid=1218760172286&tab=default
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 05:06:18 PM by AG-51_Cobraj »
=Cobraj=
Air Group 51 Commanding Officer (RET)

"A faithful friend is a source of strength; whoever finds one has found a treasure."

Offline AG-51_Glider

  • AG-51 Active Roster
  • Active
  • ******
  • Posts: 2590
  • Awards AG-51 Pilot
    • Awards
Re: @#$^%#& Routers!!
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2013, 08:28:19 PM »
Cisco is the last one I tried. I just ordered a Radio Labs which is what I had in Oklahoma and the best one I have had so far.


Offline AG-51_Bulldog

  • Administrator
  • Active
  • **********
  • Posts: 5804
  • "When in doubt, Shoot!"
  • Awards AG-51 Reserve
    • Awards
Re: @#$^%#& Routers!!
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2013, 10:17:32 AM »
Doesn't the cable company just give you a modem/router with service.... mine does...


"If you think your 6 is clear, I guess you're not thinking" ;~)

Offline AG-51_Glider

  • AG-51 Active Roster
  • Active
  • ******
  • Posts: 2590
  • Awards AG-51 Pilot
    • Awards
Re: @#$^%#& Routers!!
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2013, 04:42:40 PM »
They gave me a modem- no router though and I want to be in control of all of the settings anyway so I would want my own.


Offline AG-51_Bulldog

  • Administrator
  • Active
  • **********
  • Posts: 5804
  • "When in doubt, Shoot!"
  • Awards AG-51 Reserve
    • Awards
Re: @#$^%#& Routers!!
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2013, 09:02:10 AM »
I have a NetGear Modem/Wireless router provided from cable company... Have control over it just don't know how to do it... Guess I should figure it out so I could host if need to...


"If you think your 6 is clear, I guess you're not thinking" ;~)

Offline AG-51_TwoLate

  • AG-51 Active Roster
  • Active
  • ******
  • Posts: 2002
  • Never late for dinner
  • Awards AG-51 Pilot
    • Awards
Re: @#$^%#& Routers!!
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2013, 11:29:46 AM »
Yes My wireless router was going bad. Cable company said my line was to strong. They put a filter on it and gave me for free a nice wireless router that I can control.
"We don't leave our brothers behind."